Family and friends

About Family & Friends Support Group

This unique group supports family and friends affected by someone's AOD use.  The group is peer-led by family members (from Family Drug Help) with lived experience and offers the combination of learning about AOD misuse, strategies to cope with negative behaviours, self care for families and encourages positive change in the ways family members respond to their loved one. 

The group also offers the opportunity to talk about problems participants may be experiencing while supporting a loved one who is using AOD in a harmful manner, and to hear the stories of others.

We offer two groups: at our main location in Coburg and at the Watsonia Library.

   Coburg  Watsonia
 When?  First Wednesday of each month (6.00-7.45pm)    

 UnitingCare ReGen

 26 Jessie St, Coburg

 Where?

 First Monday of each month (7.00-9.00pm) 

 (Except November, due to Melb Cup holiday)

 Watsonia Library

 4-6 Ibbottson St, Watsonia                            

 

The Family and Friends Support Group Calendar of meetings for 2017 is below:

       

 Coburg

 Wednesday February1

 Wednesday March 1

 Wednesday April 5

 Wednesday May 3

 Wednesday June 7

 Wednesday July 5

 Wednesday August 2

 Wednesday September 6

 Wednesday October 4

 Wednesday November 1

 Wednesday December 6

 Watsonia

 Monday February 6          

 Monday March 6

 Monday April 3

 Monday May 1

 Monday June 5

 Monday July 3

 Monday August 7

 Monday September 4

 Monday October 2

 Monday November 13

 Monday December 4

 

If you would like further information regarding this group, please contact our Intake team on 1800 700 514 or This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. .